Categories
Uncategorized

Qonicho Ah! – Qonicho Ah!

The die-hard Kaczynski boys hold a special place in my heart, since their home in Northern Tuscany is quite close to the places where, as a youngster, I may have experienced some of the most “poetically internal” times of my life. However, the women who make up Qonicho Ah! (business headquarters: Marseille, France) are significantly less sentimental and unquestionably smarter than your reporter. Saxophonist (with effects) Morgane Carnet and drummer Blanche LaFuente alternate fiercely between contemporary tribalism with strong rhythms tempered with “soft” free jazz influences, and traces of more approachable, if rather autistic reed melody (but believe me, the sweetness lasts only a short time before the duo starts pounding and slashing again). The live recording, dated 2020, also includes a cameo by trumpet maestra Susana Santos Silva, not bad at all as a partner for a debut release. Lastly, the track titles are lovely – find out for yourself by clicking on the cover photo, I’m too old and tired for another copy and paste. Anyway, fun and sparkling stuff. And while you’re at it, take a little trip around there (Northern Tuscany, I mean; lots of beauty, though I’ve been missing for an eternity).

Leave a comment